Korean funk and soul from 1973-80 collected in new compilation

Written by on March 15, 2021

Plus jazz and disco gems and rarities.

A new compilation of Korean funk, soul, and rare groove tracks, called Funky Coup: Korean Soul, Funk & Rare Groove Nuggets 1973-1980, Vol. 1, is being released via Beat Ball Music this April.

The compilation aims to shine a spotlight on both the hits and lesser-known tracks that took dancefloors by storm in Korea between 1973 and 1980.

It features music from Okhee, Lee Jang-hee, Yoon Soo II and the Cotton Candy, Kim Trio, JungMin, and more.

Funky Coup follows the label’s release of Kang Tae Hwan & Kang Hae Jin’s Circle Point album in 2019.

Pre-order Funky Coup: Korean Soul, Funk & Rare Groove Nuggets 1973-1980 here in advance of its 9th April release, and check out the tracklist below.


1. Milyang Arirang – Beauty Girls ft. Devils
2. Kim Ha-jung – Promise
3. Okhee – What can I do
4. Yoon Bok-hee – Give it up
5. Cha Do-kyun – Are you alright
6. JungMin & Cheonggaeguri – Memphis Underground
7. Lee Janghee – Crying girl
8. Mujigae Quintet – Family Affair_rehearsal
9. Okhee – Don’t need a word
10. Yoon Soo-il & Somsatang – Heart waving
11. Oasis Studio Session Players – Where r u going
12. Hye Eun-yi
13. Devils – Hey J
14. Kim Sung-ae – Day after day
15. Kim Hye-jung – It’s raining night
16. Yoon Si-nae – Needless
17. Moon Ji-young – Love
18. In Soon-i
19. Norman Records Sessions – Open the door
20. Hee Sisters – Like a bird
21. Nami& Franco Romano Band
22. Lee Eun-ha – Loving Heart
23. RBS Orch – Walking alone in Myoungdong
24. Choi Heon – You’re so beautiful
25. Kim Trio – Long goodbye

Tagged as

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track